The Same First Day policy (single intake) will take effect in preschools from the beginning of next year.  Children who turn 4 before 1 May 2013 will be eligible to start preschool in Term 1. 

Those whose birth date falls after that will have to wait until the following year to commence their preschool year.  The AEU is engaged in discussions with DECD regarding the implementation of the scheme, in particular the transition period of 2013 which will see centres with declining enrolments across the year. The AEU will keep members up-to-date on the progress of these discussions.